2014 Trumpet Awards to be Hosted by ‘Best Man Holiday’ Melissa De Sousa and Laz Alonso of ‘Fast & Furious’!!


The Trumpet Awards Foundation’s President & CEO Xernona Clayton held a press conference last week and made a few EXCITING announcements.  The 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards black-tie ceremony will be hosted by Melissa De Sousa (The Best Man & The Best Man Holiday) and Laz Alonso (Fast and Furious)!!

Melissa De Sousa/Photo from PopTower.com
Laz Alonso
Laz Alonso/Photo RollingOut.com

The Trumpet Awards which highlights great achievements of African-American’s and people of color around the world will be held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre on January 25, 2014 and will air on TvOne April 20th, 2014.

It was quite an honor for ItsRobinLori (me) to cover this AMAZING event last year and I’m turning cartwheels over the opportunity to work with the Trumpet Awards social media team for 2014!!  From Jan 23rd to Jan 25th we will bring to YOU FIRST… the most fascinating highlights from the entire event.  Look for more wonderful announcements leading up to the Trumpet Awards as well 🙂

The Trumpet Foundation has awarded over $1 million in scholarships to young people of all backgrounds who choose to further their education. A major announcement and change to the Trumpet International Civil Rights “Walk of Fame” which displays the actual footprints of many civil rights contributors was also made. The “Walk of Fame” footprints will be moving near the Coca-Cola/Georgia Aquarium area which is viewed by over 3 million daily. The 2014 honorees in this group include Bishop John Hurst Adams, Hon. Roy Barnes, Dr. John Carlos, Dr. Tommie Smith, Hon. Perry Gladstone Christie, Dr. Norman C. Frances, Harry E. Johnson, Sr., Rep. Calvin Smyre, Thomas N. Todd and Rev. Jasper W. Williams. – La Pass Productions

204806331.336.255Spread the word #TrumpetAwards14


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.