Spelman Alumnae Honored at Centennial Brunch (ATL)

On Saturday, the Atlanta Chapter of the National Alumnae Association of Spelman College (NAASC) hosted a Centennial Scholarship Brunch celebrating the chapter’s 100th anniversary along with several outstanding alumnae. Hosted by “House of Payne” actress (and honoree) Cassi Davis C’2009 and “For Better or Worse” actor Brad James, the brunch took place at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis, where nearly 500 attendees gathered to honor the work of Rosalind Brewer (C’84, Chair of the Spelman Board of Trustees and President and CEO Sam’s Club), Allegra Lawrence-Hardy (C’93, Partner, Sutherland Asbill), Jean LaRue Foster Scott (C’53, Retired Educator), Eloise Abernathy Alexis (C’86, Vice President of College Relations, Spelman College), Cassi Davis and Spelman sophomore Chasity Evans (C’2017) who was this year’s scholarship winner.

Spelman 3
Lovette Russell














Radio personality and television commentator Moraima “Mo” Ivory C’91 led the “Blue Wishes” live auction which encouraged guests to make small donations toward necessary student needs such as books and meal plans.

Program participants included Shana Word Davis (C’98, President NAASC Atlanta), Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum (President, Spelman College), Daphne Smith (C’80, President NAASC), Rita Gibson (C’73, Co-Chair Centennial Brunch), Andrea Lewis (C’96, Co-Chair Centennial Brunch) and Lovette Russell (C’83 – accepted the Trailblazer Award on behalf of Rosalind Brewer).

Special thanks to sponsors the Coca-Cola Company, Macy’s, Strength of Nature, MYX Fusions Moscato, Steve & Marjorie Harvey Foundation, World Changers Church International, and the Spelman College Office of Alumnae Affairs.

The brunch was part of a $100,000 endowment campaign to benefit Spelman’s Metro Atlanta students. So far, the chapter has raised $48,000. To help NAASC Atlanta reach their fundraising goal by the end of 2014, you can donate at atlantanaasc.org.

Photos by: Donna Permell for Prime Phocus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.